Cloud Servers

WP Cloud Server Documentation

This section provides detailed guides to using the FREE WP Cloud Server Plugin available from the WordPress Plugin Directory.

NEW! The ‘WP Cloud Server’ plugin now includes a powerful setup wizard:

A Quick Guide to the WP Cloud Server Set-up Wizard

Sections

Cloud Servers

The ‘Cloud Server’ section of the powerful ‘WP Cloud Server’ Plugin provides the ability to create and manage vanilla cloud servers. That is standard servers with no management add-ons.

So. To clarify the ‘Managed Websites’ section of the Plugin gives you the ability to connect DigitalOcean cloud servers to ServerPilot which then manages your WordPress websites. Whereas this section is aimed at creating standalone servers.

The screenshot below shows the default page view, which is a list of the servers that exist in your DigitalOcean account. Note that this can include servers that you already had prior to installing the ‘WP Cloud Server’ Plugin and it will also show servers that have been connected to ServerPilot.

[image]

It is worth noting here that if you have any add-on modules installed for additional Cloud Providers, such as Vultr and Linode, then you will see a menu item for each provider below DigitalOcean. This means that you can see and manage the servers for each independently.

Managing Servers

At the end of each row in the server listing you will see a link called ‘manage’.  If you click on this link you will see the pop-up as shown in the screenshot below, which displays all of the information for that specific server.

[image]

You will see from the screenshot that there are a number of buttons at the top of the pop-up and one at the bottom.

The buttons at the top change depending on the current status of your server. If it is currently running then the buttons will be ‘Shutdown’, Power Cycle’, ‘Power Off’. If the server is currently offline as in powered down, then a single button will say ‘Boot’.

Clicking any of these buttons will instantly have that effect on the server. The pop-up will indicate the current status of the server.

The button at the bottom of the pop-up labelled ‘Delete’ obviously needs to be handled with care! Clicking this button, followed by a confirmation request will instantly delete the server and all data.

Note the server is deleted entirely from your DigitalOcean account. All data is deleted and the process cannot be recovered.

Creating New Servers

The next block of menu items are listed under the title ‘Server Admin’. At moment the only option is to create a new server, although this will change in future releases!

Clicking this option will display the page shown below.

[image]

As you can see from screenshot you need to a host name for your server. It needs to use the characters a-z, 0-9, -, and a period (.). If you enter any other characters you will see an error message displayed.

The remaining options are listed below, and are all selectable from dropdown lists.

  • Cloud Provider
  • Server Image
  • Server Region
  • Server Size
  • Admin SSH Key

The Cloud Provider will default to ‘DigitalOcean’ unless you have add-on Modules installed. If you have then these will be added to the dropdown automatically. So if you have our ‘Vultr’ and ‘Linode’ add-on Modules then you will see ‘DigitalOcean’, ‘Vultr’, and ‘Linode’, listed in the dropdown.

Note that if you select an add-on Cloud Provider then the values for ‘Server Region’ and ‘Server Size’ will change to reflect the new Cloud Providers options.

Once you have selected all options then clicking the ‘Create Server’ button will automatically create a new server with the Cloud Provider selected.

Share This